Safe to connect a modular setup to a samples? (regarding voltage levels)

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
dreamspy
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:33 am

Safe to connect a modular setup to a samples? (regarding voltage levels)

Post by dreamspy » Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:37 am

I’m getting access to a modular setup, and planning to do some sampling from it on my Elektron Octatrack sampler.

What would be the best way to make sure that I'm not frying something in my sampler if the voltages from the modular are to high?

The owner of the modular setup told me that the signal can be extremely hot, up to 20V, while normal sound signal is capping at 2V I believe.

regards
Frimann

Be Sandy?
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:04 pm

Re: Safe to connect a modular setup to a samples? (regarding voltage levels)

Post by Be Sandy? » Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:47 am

Modular signals can be quite hot, but not 20V!
Go through an external mixer and use that to attenuate the modular signal before the Octatrack. Then just set your Octatrack input level as desired for no clipping etc.

dreamspy
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:33 am

Re: Safe to connect a modular setup to a samples? (regarding voltage levels)

Post by dreamspy » Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:28 am

That sounds safe, thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Modular Synth General Discussion”