Recording Input Monitoring - Logic Pro X

Reaktor, MAX/MSP, VST/AU, etc. A place for all things soft....

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
tytiethai
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:02 am
Location: city of angels
Contact:

Recording Input Monitoring - Logic Pro X

Post by tytiethai » Mon May 06, 2019 1:16 am

Tried searching this up, to no avail:

A lot of people want to turn OFF input monitoring in Logic when, say, they have their eurorack/guitar/rig/whatever running into their audio interface...but what if you actually *LOVE* the slight latency of the double signals coming out of the speakers when you leaving input monitoring on for an external audio track? My small and mighty Focusrite seems to be doing something quite musical when it tries to run the combo of these signals.

Is there a native way to record a sort of wet/dry combination of the input signal + monitor signal combined, without using a microphone? Other solutions I might be overlooking? Thought about trying Soundflower but I'm not exactly sure what settings / would prefer another (ITB, preferably within Logic) way of doing this.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5820
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Mon May 06, 2019 12:35 pm

not shure if it will do the trick, but check "Loopback"
https://rogueamoeba.com/loopback/


i have it, but still can´t tell you if it would work out for your task.
What i can say is that loopback became alots better with the last update to V2 (was a "Buy new" update, though)
For sale:........it won´t sell, so i stopp bother you ;)

tytiethai
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:02 am
Location: city of angels
Contact:

Post by tytiethai » Mon May 06, 2019 4:39 pm

This looks really cool! Seems like a more flexible Soundflower for sure. Will check it out :sb:

User avatar
Monotremata
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:21 pm
Location: Ontario, CA

Post by Monotremata » Tue May 07, 2019 2:40 am

Just duplicate the single track and shift one of em forward or backwards a few milliseconds.

tytiethai
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:02 am
Location: city of angels
Contact:

Post by tytiethai » Tue May 07, 2019 4:45 am

Monotremata wrote:Just duplicate the single track and shift one of em forward or backwards a few milliseconds.
Ended up doing this!

Post Reply

Return to “Music Software”