Piston Honda MKII

Digital Audio Electronics - discussion & support.

Moderators: Kent, solidox, governor blacksnake

Post Reply
User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2889
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Wed May 09, 2018 2:15 pm

darylc wrote:Has anyone asked Scott about the FM input issue detuning main pitch?

If not, i'm going to ask him if it's possible to fix otherwise i'm reverting to FW 2.1

It makes pitched FM impossible as the tracking is knocked wayyy out with the CV/FM attenuverter

Really annoying as the full 0-5V CV input range makes it so much easier for xyz modulations.
Could you elaborate on the issue?

User avatar
darylc
Common Wiggler
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:22 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Post by darylc » Thu May 10, 2018 6:27 am

It's been mentioned here a few times already.

Hopefully the below outlines the issue in full.

FW V2.52 // PHMKII
No CV applied to any input except 1V/O on VCO.
Listening to Internal output only, everything at 0.

CV//FM attenuverter at 0, everything works perfectly, VCO tracks as expected.

Nothing patched into the CV//FM attenuverter when turned either direction changes the pitch and tracking of the internal ouput.
The tracking is changed so much so that it's not possible to play melodically.

Adding a CV or FM source to the relevant inputs does not remove this strange offset applied by the CV//FM attenuverter.

The result is you can't use the VCO melodically when applying any type of CV//FM modulation to the VCO.

This issue was not present in FW2.1

Frustrating!

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: lovettsville, va
Contact:

Post by dooj88 » Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:26 pm

alright, well i'm a stupid fuckup and decided i didn't care about 'blank spots' in my rom selection until there were blank spots in my rom selection. i loaded thr 4 b.smith roms via the expander (why oh why didn't he sell 6?)

anyone have 2 chips i could buy/borrow (ideal, i'd pay for shipping to and fro) so i can clear these blank slots? i also stupidly didn't load them in order, so it's C and E that are blank (i think..)

the other option is to relaod them in a differnt configuration on the expander leaving the F and G blank so i don't have dead spots when scanning roms. but the expander doesn't have a B slot (see pic) so i'm not sure if this will work, mess something up, etc.


Image

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2889
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 6:01 am

dooj88 wrote:alright, well i'm a stupid fuckup and decided i didn't care about 'blank spots' in my rom selection until there were blank spots in my rom selection. i loaded thr 4 b.smith roms via the expander (why oh why didn't he sell 6?)

anyone have 2 chips i could buy/borrow (ideal, i'd pay for shipping to and fro) so i can clear these blank slots? i also stupidly didn't load them in order, so it's C and E that are blank (i think..)

the other option is to relaod them in a differnt configuration on the expander leaving the F and G blank so i don't have dead spots when scanning roms. but the expander doesn't have a B slot (see pic) so i'm not sure if this will work, mess something up, etc.


Image
The ROM chips are cheaply available from mouser or digikey:
"Obtain the 25LC512 serial EEPROM chip in DIP package from your electronics dealer. You can also use the 25AA512 if in stock."

$2 each:
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Mi ... L%252b4%3d

The reason there are 4 B.Smith ROMs and not 6 is due to legacy support for Piston Honda mk I (only required 4 ROMs since 2 ROMs were already onboard).

User avatar
Abyssinianloop
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:25 pm

Post by Abyssinianloop » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:58 am

mt3 wrote:
dooj88 wrote:alright, well i'm a stupid fuckup and decided i didn't care about 'blank spots' in my rom selection until there were blank spots in my rom selection. i loaded thr 4 b.smith roms via the expander (why oh why didn't he sell 6?)

anyone have 2 chips i could buy/borrow (ideal, i'd pay for shipping to and fro) so i can clear these blank slots? i also stupidly didn't load them in order, so it's C and E that are blank (i think..)

the other option is to relaod them in a differnt configuration on the expander leaving the F and G blank so i don't have dead spots when scanning roms. but the expander doesn't have a B slot (see pic) so i'm not sure if this will work, mess something up, etc.

Image
The ROM chips are cheaply available from mouser or digikey:
"Obtain the 25LC512 serial EEPROM chip in DIP package from your electronics dealer. You can also use the 25AA512 if in stock."

$2 each:
https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Mi ... L%252b4%3d

The reason there are 4 B.Smith ROMs and not 6 is due to legacy support for Piston Honda mk I (only required 4 ROMs since 2 ROMs were already onboard).
He's also going to need a Pickit 2 or equivalent to program the chips with his own or downloaded files.

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: lovettsville, va
Contact:

Post by dooj88 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 11:28 am

Abyssinianloop wrote:He's also going to need a Pickit 2 or equivalent to program the chips with his own or downloaded files.
correct, that was part of my reasoning to just asking to borrow a couple. it cuts down on the number of fiddly tasks in buying/programming my own roms. i don't have a lot of free time and i'd prefer to get these filled as simply as possible.

on the other hand..
my module doesn't display a version number on bootup, so i'm below v2.5. is the additional smoothing worth going to 2.52? the reports with unstable FM tracking are off-putting though. mt3, presumably you're on the latest and you've not experienced this since you're getting proper gnarl? ...additionally, my SHmk2 would be pretty happy with that new update...
guestt wrote:Mostly PH mk][ but also a really annoying exploration of timing shifts and fails, and the Hexinverter Snare too, drop just after 4:30:

https://soundcloud.com/kel/snare
that was gorgeous :love:

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2889
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 4:52 pm

dooj88 wrote:on the other hand..
my module doesn't display a version number on bootup, so i'm below v2.5. is the additional smoothing worth going to 2.52? the reports with unstable FM tracking are off-putting though. mt3, presumably you're on the latest and you've not experienced this since you're getting proper gnarl? ...additionally, my SHmk2 would be pretty happy with that new update...
I'm below 2.5 as well. I tend not to gravitate toward "smoother" or "cleaner" improvements. The plank toward sterility...

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4299
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Post by Sinamsis » Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:29 pm

mt3 wrote:
dooj88 wrote:on the other hand..
my module doesn't display a version number on bootup, so i'm below v2.5. is the additional smoothing worth going to 2.52? the reports with unstable FM tracking are off-putting though. mt3, presumably you're on the latest and you've not experienced this since you're getting proper gnarl? ...additionally, my SHmk2 would be pretty happy with that new update...
I'm below 2.5 as well. I tend not to gravitate toward "smoother" or "cleaner" improvements. The plank toward sterility...
Ha, I dunno. It's good to have options. I feel like I can get clean pretty dirty. it's hard to go in the other direction. I'd love it if, for example, the Tyme Sefari gets some touch ups in the audio quality department.

User avatar
tommaso
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:42 pm
Location: ITALY

Post by tommaso » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:21 pm

darylc wrote:It's been mentioned here a few times already.

Hopefully the below outlines the issue in full.

FW V2.52 // PHMKII
No CV applied to any input except 1V/O on VCO.
Listening to Internal output only, everything at 0.

CV//FM attenuverter at 0, everything works perfectly, VCO tracks as expected.

Nothing patched into the CV//FM attenuverter when turned either direction changes the pitch and tracking of the internal ouput.
The tracking is changed so much so that it's not possible to play melodically.

Adding a CV or FM source to the relevant inputs does not remove this strange offset applied by the CV//FM attenuverter.

The result is you can't use the VCO melodically when applying any type of CV//FM modulation to the VCO.

This issue was not present in FW2.1

Frustrating!


Any words about this behavior? Mine acts the same..

User avatar
PietroC
Common Wiggler
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:17 pm
Location: Montreal

Post by PietroC » Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:38 pm

Anybody else receive the PHMK3 with a Extra Knob ( OSC A FM KNOB )
Seems Unusual

Image

Again wrong Post Section :deadbanana:

But i can never find the PHMK3 page

User avatar
robotopsy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 728
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:55 am
Location: Canada

Post by robotopsy » Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:02 am

Looks nice !!!
PietroC wrote:Anybody else receive the PHMK3 with a Extra Knob ( OSC A FM KNOB )
Seems Unusual

Image

Again wrong Post Section :deadbanana:

But i can never find the PHMK3 page

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: lovettsville, va
Contact:

Post by dooj88 » Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:54 pm

fucking love this oscillator. IME has to be the most versatile company in euro, so much to explore from gnarly to gnlovely.

made this the other day. main bulk of the track is shmk2 and hertz donut. heavy use of the doepfer bitcrusher, but will swap with malgo when funds allow.
there's weight to these oscillators that is so damn satisfying. only thing i need is an IME twist on a nice little LPG and i'm in nasty bliss heaven.

:hail: :harvestman:

[video][/video]

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: lovettsville, va
Contact:

Post by dooj88 » Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:08 pm

while i'm here, i've got two roms that are dead spots due to loading up the Z chips with only 4, not six. couldn't find 2 more. not a big deal, but wondering if anyone found a way to load up something in the 2 spots.

is it possible to change position of the chips on the expander and load more that way? or would that just move the blank rom slots around on the slider?

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2889
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Tue Dec 10, 2019 6:25 am

dooj88 wrote:while i'm here, i've got two roms that are dead spots due to loading up the Z chips with only 4, not six. couldn't find 2 more. not a big deal, but wondering if anyone found a way to load up something in the 2 spots.

is it possible to change position of the chips on the expander and load more that way? or would that just move the blank rom slots around on the slider?
I believe that moves the blank spots around.

You can buy the EEPROMs from mouser.com.
Use the "25LC512" serial EEPROM chip in DIP package. You can also use the "25AA512" if in stock.

User avatar
robotopsy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 728
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:55 am
Location: Canada

Post by robotopsy » Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:44 pm

It is possible to copy existing EEPROM of bank and paste to a blank EEPROM.

I may have some blank EEprom left somewhere !?!?! I'll let you know once I get back home.

dooj88 wrote:while i'm here, i've got two roms that are dead spots due to loading up the Z chips with only 4, not six. couldn't find 2 more. not a big deal, but wondering if anyone found a way to load up something in the 2 spots.

is it possible to change position of the chips on the expander and load more that way? or would that just move the blank rom slots around on the slider?

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: lovettsville, va
Contact:

Post by dooj88 » Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:35 am

awesome sauce!! thank guys.

User avatar
Pighood
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2040
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:48 pm

Re: Piston Honda MKII

Post by Pighood » Thu Mar 05, 2020 1:00 pm

Just purchased a used PHII from Perfect Circuit. WHAT.....HAVE...I.....GOTTEN....MYSELF....INTO.... :woah:
*phnert*

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: lovettsville, va
Contact:

Re: Piston Honda MKII

Post by dooj88 » Thu Mar 05, 2020 2:46 pm

Pighood wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 1:00 pm
Just purchased a used PHII from Perfect Circuit. WHAT.....HAVE...I.....GOTTEN....MYSELF....INTO.... :woah:
the best fkn oscillator in euro.. i'm convinced, nothing sounds better to me. fite me macbeth-cwejman-schippmann heads.

User avatar
Pighood
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2040
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:48 pm

Re: Piston Honda MKII

Post by Pighood » Thu Mar 05, 2020 4:16 pm

It's pushing out my E350, but I also have an E352 and a Sheepdtides, so huh
*phnert*

Jaypee
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1065
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:46 am

Re: Piston Honda MKII

Post by Jaypee » Fri Mar 06, 2020 3:42 am

dooj88 wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 2:46 pm
Pighood wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 1:00 pm
Just purchased a used PHII from Perfect Circuit. WHAT.....HAVE...I.....GOTTEN....MYSELF....INTO.... :woah:
the best fkn oscillator in euro.. i'm convinced, nothing sounds better to me. fite me macbeth-cwejman-schippmann heads.
+1. Schipmann is so soooo underrated by many. One of the best designer.
"Those aren't your daddy's waveforms " Cynthia Webster

User avatar
Pighood
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2040
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:48 pm

Re: Piston Honda MKII

Post by Pighood » Fri Mar 06, 2020 9:07 am

Doesn't look like I'll ever be able to find the ROM expander thingee though. O well.
*phnert*

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2889
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Re: Piston Honda MKII

Post by mt3 » Fri Mar 06, 2020 6:41 pm

Pighood wrote:
Fri Mar 06, 2020 9:07 am
Doesn't look like I'll ever be able to find the ROM expander thingee though. O well.
It shows up occassionally.
Or contact your local Harvestman Fanclub and see if anyone can hook you up.

User avatar
Pighood
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2040
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:48 pm

Re: Piston Honda MKII

Post by Pighood » Fri Mar 06, 2020 9:06 pm

Harvestman Fanclub? Was unaware such a thing existed.
*phnert*

User avatar
Pighood
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2040
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:48 pm

Re: Piston Honda MKII

Post by Pighood » Wed Mar 11, 2020 8:09 am

The thing just landed...having a blast running radio through the audio in. FM knob behaves exactly like the fine tune knob when nothing plugged in. :roll:
*phnert*

User avatar
jwm
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 558
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:12 am
Location: florida
Contact:

Re: Piston Honda MKII

Post by jwm » Wed Mar 11, 2020 1:39 pm

Pighood wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 8:09 am
The thing just landed...having a blast running radio through the audio in. FM knob behaves exactly like the fine tune knob when nothing plugged in. :roll:

what fw is it running? i think that was addressed on 2.5.1

v2.5.1 - June 17, 2016

- Reduced noise on FM input when no cable is plugged in.

Post Reply

Return to “The Harvestman”