types of filters (based on circuitry)

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

hiawog
Ultra Wiggler

types of filters (based on circuitry)

Post by hiawog » Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:56 pm

hey all. i'm not an electrical engineer, but i want to better understand the different categories of filters as defined by their circuit topologies. obviously there's an infinite number of ways to categorize modules, but i'm hoping to get a better grasp of general approaches to designing a filter and the sonic consequences of those design decisions.

i've heard of a few different types already:

- transistor ladder: thank you bob moog. usually 24db/oct, smooth sound.
- diode: harsher or grittier sounding, i think?
- vactrol-based: vactrol ring and woody tone
- attack-decay: i don't know the right name for this, but i'm talking about the 6db/octave filtering that you can get with a serge-style envelope
- state-variable: don't really understand what this means
- vca-based: i've heard of people designing filters around vca chips, but i don't know how this works.

i'm sure there are plenty of other kinds, and i know that it's never accurate to make sweeping generalizations about a given type of module. i'm just trying to understand the general guidelines and trends, ie. transistor ladder filters tend to have cleaner resonance than diode filters, or whatever. it would also be really cool to know some common or well-known filters of each type.

thanks everyone!

Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:43 pm

- Sallen Key
- Butterworth
- Wien Bridge
- Synthacon multi-mode inputs
- Switched Capacitor

MindMachine
weekend warrior

Post by MindMachine » Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:53 pm

Cat-A-Tonic wrote:- Sallen Key
- Butterworth
- Wien Bridge
- Switched Capacitor