Color Coding of Knobs, Inputs and Outputs

Anything modular synth related that is not format specific.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

AAG
Ultra Wiggler

Color Coding of Knobs, Inputs and Outputs

Post by AAG » Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:34 am

First post, so I'll start with an extremely brief introduction: I'm a Swede and I'm new to modular synthesis but not to synthesizers and music recording.

I am putting together an all-Doepfer 9U system, and I'm thinking about color coding the knobs and in- and outputs. The most obvious way would be one color for audio and one for control voltage, but I'm afraid that wouldn't be nearly colorful enough. One way to go about it would be one color for audio in, one for audio out, one for CV in, one for CV out... I'm also considering one color for knobs adjusting frequencies (but you do that on both control signals and audio signals, so it quickly becomes rather complicated), and one color for knobs adjusting amplitude or "amounts". The possibilities are endless, but having 10-15 different colors on my knobs would just be confusing, albeit pleasing to the eye.

Any thoughts on this? Or examples of successful application? Pictures would be lovely.

tony d
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by tony d » Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:17 am

Hi AAG, The Serge system uses colored jacks to represent different ins and outs.Here is a quote from the faq section of the Serge-fans.com page:

Q: What is the color coding on the banana jacks?
A. Red is used for trigger signals, Blue for DC coupled signals, Black for AC coupled signals, and purple is used for sync.

Also Buchla uses a color coding and different types of jacks for audio and cv.Here is a quote from a Sound on sound article i found about the 200e: