New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
mutierend
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:21 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by mutierend » Sat Jan 18, 2020 7:17 pm

Has anyone tried polychaining two Hydrasynths? I have the keyboard and I'm thinking about adding the desktop. What's it like? Is it seamless? Does it open up possibilities or just make a 16 voice poly? :)

User avatar
Pugilistas
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:26 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Pugilistas » Sun Jan 19, 2020 4:32 pm

Word I've seen from folks implementing the Hydra keyboard + module is that it integrates really well. They all seem pretty happy. Me, I just want to get one (module).

User avatar
onthelees
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:41 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by onthelees » Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:54 pm

Anyone else having trouble installing the O.S. 1.3 Update? I just get "Open USB Fail" when I try to run the updater app. The Patch Manager app doesn't have any trouble seeing the Hydrasynth, and I have already sucked my custom patches into my PC so I doubt it's my USB connection. Sent a note to ASM, no response yet.

User avatar
onthelees
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:41 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by onthelees » Wed Jan 22, 2020 12:54 am

Still no response :cry:

User avatar
StillNotWorking
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by StillNotWorking » Wed Jan 22, 2020 5:57 am

I'm more in the realm of old and crunchy 12-bit when it comes to digital synths. But the ESQ style editing caught my attention. Just like to mention how utterly useful this button layout are compared to the standard symetrical style Ensoniq later changed to from VFX onwards. This layout function more intuetive, much like you grab a sliter or pot :tu:
looking for service manual for the Clavia ddrum AT or ddrum III

User avatar
StillNotWorking
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by StillNotWorking » Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:39 am

onthelees wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:54 pm
Anyone else having trouble installing the O.S. 1.3 Update? I just get "Open USB Fail" when I try to run the updater app. The Patch Manager app doesn't have any trouble seeing the Hydrasynth, and I have already sucked my custom patches into my PC so I doubt it's my USB connection. Sent a note to ASM, no response yet.
My interpretation of that error message are that your computer have problem accessing the USB driver.
Try searching internet for your operating system and similar messages. It could be a security measures stopping access to files needed. Temporary storing update files in another directory might solve the problem?

Edit: Also a common failure I've seen are trying to run a program from within a compressed file. If the update comes as a compressed file like zip z7 tar and many other extentions try unpack the file before running update.
looking for service manual for the Clavia ddrum AT or ddrum III

User avatar
onthelees
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:41 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by onthelees » Thu Jan 23, 2020 1:13 am

StillNotWorking wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:39 am
onthelees wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:54 pm
Anyone else having trouble installing the O.S. 1.3 Update? I just get "Open USB Fail" when I try to run the updater app. The Patch Manager app doesn't have any trouble seeing the Hydrasynth, and I have already sucked my custom patches into my PC so I doubt it's my USB connection. Sent a note to ASM, no response yet.
My interpretation of that error message are that your computer have problem accessing the USB driver.
Try searching internet for your operating system and similar messages. It could be a security measures stopping access to files needed. Temporary storing update files in another directory might solve the problem?

Edit: Also a common failure I've seen are trying to run a program from within a compressed file. If the update comes as a compressed file like zip z7 tar and many other extentions try unpack the file before running update.
Thanks for the suggestions. I am good to go. As usual, it's extremely helpful to

1) discover that there are actually directions for doing this.
2) following said directions.

User avatar
mome rath
a dubious cube of margarine
Posts: 1505
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:23 pm

Re:

Post by mome rath » Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:30 am

nolongerhuman wrote:
Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:57 pm
tehyar wrote:
Divinital wrote: I am OCD and when I had the Quantum, the right side of the screen seemed as though it barely worked so I returned it
fyi: the right side of the screen thing is most likely due to a point of confusion on how thee ui is to be interacted with. There's a youtube vid where a guy goes through all of the UI issues. Most of the time when the right side doesn't respond, it's because you aren't supposed to be touching it there. The three blocks that come up next to the knobs are intended to only be touched nearer to the inside and don't respond to touch near the outside. It's fooled a lot of peeps into thinking it's got a dead spot - myself included.
Unfortunately it’s definitely an issue. Mine has that problem and I’m now having to submit a ticket for it. It’s gotten more noticeable since I got it.

There are work arounds, touching the box and then using the knob nearest the box, but things like sliding through parameters is impossible to do even somewhat smoothly. The left side is totally fine, and completely different from the right side. On mine, the lack of sensitivity started about 1/8” from the edge and is not nearly a full inch from the edge after 7 months. I bought it new.
same, mine is in for repair right now; the "dead sector" precludes updating the OS to the beta 2.x.x version

i also noticed a bubble forming in the middle of the touch screen

:cry:
Image
soundcloud, dear friends

good trader cred
instagraM
guest wrote:
Fri Jan 03, 2020 2:45 pm
basically, as the dude put it "no walter, youre not wrong, youre just an asshole".
zoogoo wrote: your stupid

User avatar
Christopher Winkels
Lord of Tweed Manor
Posts: 4527
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 6:53 pm
Location: Milky Way

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Christopher Winkels » Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:20 am

In looking at the box on mine last night I noticed an interesting bit of text.

"Made in China
Designed and engineered in China"

No longer content with being the workshop others send their designs to, this is a nice tweak of the nose to those who think China is just a place cheap junk comes from.

User avatar
StillNotWorking
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by StillNotWorking » Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:43 am

Christopher Winkels wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:20 am
In looking at the box on mine last night I noticed an interesting bit of text.

"Made in China
Designed and engineered in China"

No longer content with being the workshop others send their designs to, this is a nice tweak of the nose to those who think China is just a place cheap junk comes from.
Meet the team http://www.ashunsoundmachines.com/about
Also a little funny first reading post before yours.
looking for service manual for the Clavia ddrum AT or ddrum III

Licudi
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 901
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:43 pm

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Licudi » Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:46 am

Glen Darcey, the main product development guy behind Hydrasynth, is based in LA. Headhunted from Arturia by Medeli.

Expanding on the theme, the dependency of the world on China for electronics may be tested by the coronavirus outbreak depending on whether or not it is contained.
Last edited by Licudi on Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Christopher Winkels
Lord of Tweed Manor
Posts: 4527
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 6:53 pm
Location: Milky Way

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Christopher Winkels » Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:51 am

StillNotWorking wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:43 am
Christopher Winkels wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:20 am
In looking at the box on mine last night I noticed an interesting bit of text.

"Made in China
Designed and engineered in China"

No longer content with being the workshop others send their designs to, this is a nice tweak of the nose to those who think China is just a place cheap junk comes from.
Meet the team http://www.ashunsoundmachines.com/about
Also a little funny first reading post before yours.
Indeed. Mine is quite new, so no issues to speak of. Time will tell.

User avatar
Christopher Winkels
Lord of Tweed Manor
Posts: 4527
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 6:53 pm
Location: Milky Way

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Christopher Winkels » Sun Feb 23, 2020 2:59 pm

I updated the firmware to 1.31 on my keyboard version this weekend.

Now I'm dealing with a unit that turns on, generates audio normally, but doesn't illuminate any buttons. Then when I change a patch every button flickers rapidly. Turning it off and on again seems to (usually) cure the problem, but it comes back every few times it's turned back on.

Has anyone else encountered this? Are there any solutions to it?

werb
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:25 am
Location: UK

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by werb » Mon Feb 24, 2020 2:19 pm

onthelees wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:54 pm
Anyone else having trouble installing the O.S. 1.3 Update? I just get "Open USB Fail" when I try to run the updater app. The Patch Manager app doesn't have any trouble seeing the Hydrasynth, and I have already sucked my custom patches into my PC so I doubt it's my USB connection. Sent a note to ASM, no response yet.
you have to put it into update mode

press and hold both Arp ON and LATCH on power up and it will boot up in update mode ;)

caught me out too so hope it helps.

werb
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Re:

Post by werb » Mon Feb 24, 2020 2:23 pm

mome rath wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:30 am
touch screen

:cry:
? mine doesnt have a touch screen ?

User avatar
nangu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1842
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:07 am
Location: near Chicago

Re: Re:

Post by nangu » Mon Feb 24, 2020 2:46 pm

werb wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 2:23 pm
? mine doesnt have a touch screen ?
There were some side comments about the Waldorf Quantum in this thread- that’s what you’re seeing.

werb
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:25 am
Location: UK

Re: Re:

Post by werb » Mon Feb 24, 2020 3:10 pm

nangu wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 2:46 pm
werb wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 2:23 pm
? mine doesnt have a touch screen ?
There were some side comments about the Waldorf Quantum in this thread- that’s what you’re seeing.
ahh thanks !

User avatar
Christopher Winkels
Lord of Tweed Manor
Posts: 4527
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 6:53 pm
Location: Milky Way

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Christopher Winkels » Mon Feb 24, 2020 7:50 pm

Replied to a post not referencing my issue.

User avatar
nuttymad
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 10:28 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by nuttymad » Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:07 pm

I have a desktop hydrasynth on the way and can’t wait to get my hands on it! I have plans to use it along side my eurorack rig. Can anyone share their experiences with the cv ins and outs? How are you using them?

c0ntr4d1ct10n
Common Wiggler
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by c0ntr4d1ct10n » Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:12 am

Anyone with the keyboard Hydrasynth been able to get note-off velocity (ie. Release velocity) to work? It says it exists as a modulation parameter in the manual, but mine's been updated to version 1.3.1 (which added mpe) and it seems the note-off has been replaced with MPEoffVc, which I can't seem to get it to repond to any parameter (I've tested it with Osc1 Pitch).

c0ntr4d1ct10n
Common Wiggler
Posts: 250
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by c0ntr4d1ct10n » Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:52 am

I've had a look at the latest Midi Implementation (they only seem to have version 1.4 available) and it shows that the Hydrasynth does not transmit note-off velocity, only receives it. Does this mean that they removed the feature or the manual 1.0 is incorrect? Anyone know how I can revert the firmware to 1.0 to check?

raft
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:12 pm

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by raft » Sat Apr 18, 2020 9:47 pm

the desktop version seems to be back in stock if anyone has been waiting on one of these. I've been trying to find a good rack midi synth for a while - this thing looks like it will cover some ground!

User avatar
Ockeghem
missa propecia
Posts: 1290
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:27 pm
Location: USA VA

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Ockeghem » Sat Apr 18, 2020 10:07 pm

Winkels has an issue with it, therefore I shall wait and see before getting one.
The fact that I likely don't need one in any case, has no bearing on the matter.
My mouth laughs, but my heart weeps...
_______________________________
synthnut wrote: This is certainly a renaissance with bells and whistles on in the modular world. More MU is good for you, that's my motto...
TTFN,
Ben

User avatar
Ockeghem
missa propecia
Posts: 1290
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:27 pm
Location: USA VA

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Ockeghem » Sat Apr 18, 2020 10:16 pm

raft wrote:
Sat Apr 18, 2020 9:47 pm
the desktop version seems to be back in stock if anyone has been waiting on one of these. I've been trying to find a good rack midi synth for a while - this thing looks like it will cover some ground!
I am tripping over good rack MIDI synths. “Cover some ground” is literal enough here!
And I don't refer to tripping in the Haight-Ashbury sense of the word.
The occasional Guinness is fine however :guinness:
As long as I tread carefully.
My mouth laughs, but my heart weeps...
_______________________________
synthnut wrote: This is certainly a renaissance with bells and whistles on in the modular world. More MU is good for you, that's my motto...
TTFN,
Ben

User avatar
Hermetech Mastering
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 3:40 am
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Hermetech Mastering » Sun Apr 19, 2020 3:46 am

Ockeghem wrote:
Sat Apr 18, 2020 10:16 pm
And I don't refer to tripping in the Haight-Ashbury sense of the word.
Ah c'mon, live a little, it is Bicycle Day after all! ;)

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”