Serge WAD feedback voltage control

Discussing some incredible modules that don't quite fit into the other forum categories.

Moderators: luketeaford, lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
jamb
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:07 am
Location: shy town

Serge WAD feedback voltage control

Post by jamb » Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:16 pm

Just wondering why feedback does not have a voltage control input? Anyone ever modded their WAD to have this? It's one of the best parts of the Time Machine delay.

User avatar
bartlebooth
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 2:26 pm
Location: DC

Post by bartlebooth » Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:28 pm

no need to mod it - just run either the A or B output through a VCA and then back into the AUX-input, making sure the feedback toggle is set to AUX... there's your voltage controlled feedback.

jamb
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:07 am
Location: shy town

Post by jamb » Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:15 pm

:roll:

User avatar
hongaars
Common Wiggler
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: Utrecht

Post by hongaars » Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:39 am

sound clips please! :razz:

jamb
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:07 am
Location: shy town

Post by jamb » Wed Feb 25, 2015 1:36 pm

bartlebooth wrote:no need to mod it - just run either the A or B output through a VCA and then back into the AUX-input, making sure the feedback toggle is set to AUX... there's your voltage controlled feedback.
Too bad it requires a whole VCA, you also can't get longer delay times, but it works... thanks for the tip :cheers:

User avatar
bartlebooth
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 2:26 pm
Location: DC

Post by bartlebooth » Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:27 am

jamb wrote:
bartlebooth wrote:no need to mod it - just run either the A or B output through a VCA and then back into the AUX-input, making sure the feedback toggle is set to AUX... there's your voltage controlled feedback.
Too bad it requires a whole VCA, you also can't get longer delay times, but it works... thanks for the tip :cheers:
sure thing..you can make the WAD's delay time quite a bit longer by putting 5v (like from a mix pro or dual processor) into the delay time CV in jack and turning the knob up (longest delays will be from the B output which uses both BBD chips).

User avatar
Vsyevolod
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:01 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Vsyevolod » Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:21 pm

Yes it requires a whole VCA. Alternately, you could use the top section of the Wave Multiplier, or a black input on the DTG/DSG, or an Active Processor, or a Xfader, or a simple mixer, or a DCSM, or the top half of the SSG, or a Ring Modulator, or... or... or...

That's the beauty of a Serge system. All these sub components working together in harmony. Yes, you need a plethora of patchcords, and a good head on your shoulders. And the rewards are many.

Stephen




.

Post Reply

Return to “Buchla, EMS & Serge”