Question about substituting components

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Junk
Learning to Wiggle

Question about substituting components

Post by Junk » Tue May 05, 2020 4:13 am

Hey guys, I'm totally new to DIY, done one kit before but now I'm ordering a BOM for the first time, and I've got a question which has almost definitely been answered somewhere in this forum, but I couldn't find it with the Search function.

I want to order components for a module and one component is obsolete and another 3 are on back order until July.

I'm wondering what I can substitute these components for, and will this have a detrimental effect on my module. As well as sourcing the components for this module, I'd also like to know more in general what I have to look for when substituting one component for another.

I guess what I'm looking for is a Dummies guide to substituting components. Any tips, tricks or links which people have would be great.

-------

If youre interested, the module I'm looking at is the DIY Delay from Erica Synths and the missing components are:

OBSOLETE
Aluminium Electrolytic Capacitor - Radial Leaded 1uF 25V 85C
https://mouser.com/ProductDetail/539-SN010M025ST

ON BACKORDER
Metal Film Resistors - Through Hole 1K OHM 1/4W 1%
https://nl.mouser.com/ProductDetail/603-MFR-25FBF52-1K

IC & Component Sockets 16P DIP SKT 300 CL LADDER
mouser.com/ProductDetail/571-1-2199298-4

Headers & Wire Housings WR-BHD 2.54mm Box 10Pin Male Straight
https://mouser.com/ProductDetail/710-61201021621

Agawell
Ultra Wiggler

Re: Question about substituting components

Post by Agawell » Tue May 05, 2020 5:06 am

Ah welcome to the fun and interesting world of component substitution!!!