Please help a CAD Wannabe

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

glennfin
Veteran Wiggler

Please help a CAD Wannabe

Post by glennfin » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:14 pm

I am so very tired of drawing schematics on paper, then hard wiring the circuit on a protoboard.
Understand, I'm an old school designer. I'm talking graph paper, rub-on PC etch resist, etching bath, drilling pads, AHHHh!!! :bang:

I did work with a schematic capture CAD program about 15 years ago but I remember very little about it besides being able to add parts to the schematic from a library, etc..

I would very much like to start learning some sort of CAD, schematic capture, PCB layout software. Something that would allow me to draw a schematic and send off a file to a PCB house for production.

Requirements; Free or inexpensive. Relatively easy learning curve for a newcomer. Able to export a PCB layout file for submission to a PCB production house.

Suggestions? Please?

Thank you.

infinitemachinery
Common Wiggler

Re: Please help a CAD Wannabe

Post by infinitemachinery » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:34 pm

Kicad seems to be the most popular. Open source and free
https://kicad-pcb.org/

EasyEDA is another. It has a free version.
https://easyeda.com/

Any ECAD problem is going to have complexities and a learning curve to get to a comfortable level of use.

devinw1
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by devinw1 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:24 pm

Kicad is free and there are some good tutorials on youtube. That's what I did. I'm an ME and used mechanical cad for many years but hadnt touched ECAD until about 2 years ago and hit up those YouTube tutorials. It will come quick for you. :tu:

Lolo73
Learning to Wiggle

Post by Lolo73 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:29 pm

DipTrace is free for small circuits (less than 300 pins). You can easily create your own components and your own patterns.

KSS
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by KSS » Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:39 pm