Frequen Steiner trouble shoot

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
revmutt
Knutty For Knobs
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: NYC

Frequen Steiner trouble shoot

Post by revmutt » Wed Dec 24, 2008 9:42 am

This is an updated version from what I posted in the Yahoo group.

This unit was bought used and did work at one point.

Without anything plugged into the CV inputs The unit will stop passing signal unless on puts a small amount of pressure on the upper right of the board (near the IC) -In this mode if one switches into hi pass, audio will return but unfiltered.

When there are connections to the CV inputs the unit basically works but from what I can see the frequency knob doesn't.

Maybe I'm missing something but I don't think these are features.

Help

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Wed Dec 24, 2008 10:05 am

those are definitely not "features", something is wrong. The bit about needing a bit of pressure made me think that maybe there is a loose IC or bad solder joint somewhere, this should be visible just by looking around the PCB. The issue when having external CV plugged in is quite odd. Does the same happen if CV is plugged in, but the attenuators are turned all the way down? Or if you just plug in a dummy cable (the other end is not connected to anything)?

Fwiw, the only issue that mine has developed is that sometimes, after switching modes, the output will cut out until I wiggle the switch knob a little and then it comes back. This is no doubt a problem with the switch itself though.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

User avatar
revmutt
Knutty For Knobs
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: NYC

Post by revmutt » Wed Dec 24, 2008 7:39 pm

May have found a solution, though it may be temporary.

I tightened the frequency knob while putting a little bit of pressure on the back of the circuit board.

In terms of the CV knobs, they had to be plugged into another device.

The whole thing is strange but I suspect minor.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”