FX AID - multi audio effect module

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
autopoiesis
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 992
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:00 pm

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by autopoiesis » Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:01 pm

mosorensen wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 4:06 pm
igorrr wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 11:11 am
Ok, added "Delay AUX" to the effects list. It works as requested: Right channel is used for send and return to externally process the feedback pass.
I have always been a bit confused about these "send / return" loops. Wouldn't I achieve exactly the same thing, if I multed the output from the FX Aid (the "send"), then ran it through a filter or whatever and mixed the result (the "return") with the original input signal before sending it into FX Aid?
yes but you need to use a mixer for that patch. two, actually, if you want to control dry / wet, because it only works when you set the delay to full wet. this is a lot more space-economical

User avatar
mosorensen
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:19 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by mosorensen » Sat Apr 04, 2020 9:26 pm

autopoiesis wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 5:01 pm
mosorensen wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 4:06 pm
igorrr wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 11:11 am
Ok, added "Delay AUX" to the effects list. It works as requested: Right channel is used for send and return to externally process the feedback pass.
I have always been a bit confused about these "send / return" loops. Wouldn't I achieve exactly the same thing, if I multed the output from the FX Aid (the "send"), then ran it through a filter or whatever and mixed the result (the "return") with the original input signal before sending it into FX Aid?
yes but you need to use a mixer for that patch. two, actually, if you want to control dry / wet, because it only works when you set the delay to full wet. this is a lot more space-economical
That makes sense. Thanks for clarifying.

User avatar
igorrr
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 729
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by igorrr » Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:45 am

johannes wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:45 pm
iam curious about more exotic effects like (spectral) formant shift or spectral harmonizer.
would that be possible?
FFT spectral effects are not possible, but will check what can be done with similar sonic results.

johannes
Common Wiggler
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:31 pm

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by johannes » Sun Apr 05, 2020 1:29 pm

ok thanks, good to know.
how far can one go by using the fv-1 programming? what about a modal filter?

User avatar
brandonlogic
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:17 am

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by brandonlogic » Sun Apr 05, 2020 5:21 pm

igorrr wrote:
Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:45 am
johannes wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:45 pm
iam curious about more exotic effects like (spectral) formant shift or spectral harmonizer.
would that be possible?
FFT spectral effects are not possible, but will check what can be done with similar sonic results.
Ooooo interested you see what you come up with!!!

I know you mentioned it might be doable before but what about a Vocoder mode?

zerodivide
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:05 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by zerodivide » Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:40 pm

is there some sort of best practice for gain staging the FX Aid? curious how much volume I should send it for ideal results. Def gets distorted if I don't watch my VCA before it

User avatar
brandonlogic
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:17 am

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by brandonlogic » Mon Apr 06, 2020 8:25 am

zerodivide wrote:
Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:40 pm
is there some sort of best practice for gain staging the FX Aid? curious how much volume I should send it for ideal results. Def gets distorted if I don't watch my VCA before it
attenuate your signal if you start hearing distortion/clipping. it's that simple.

User avatar
mdoudoroff
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3776
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:10 am
Location: New York City

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by mdoudoroff » Mon Apr 06, 2020 8:35 am

The Spin FV-1 chip was designed mainly for adding embedded effects to inexpensive mixing consoles and similar applications. the chip itself has little headroom by Eurorack standards (±3v I think)—but what matters is how Happy Nerving designed the analog circuits around the chipset. In my experience with FV-1 modules, you will need to attenuate often—plan on it. Some of the FV-1 based modules (e.g., Z-DSP, Black Hole 2) have on-board input attenuation, which is nice, but there’s no space for another pot on such a small module as this.

User avatar
brandonlogic
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:17 am

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by brandonlogic » Mon Apr 06, 2020 9:57 am

i find i dont need to attenuate all sources. some sources are worse that others, super long notes and drones tend to clip more than shorter transients. it also depends on the effect and your settings. either way, its quite simple to deal with by attenuating and not an issue.

User avatar
mdoudoroff
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3776
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:10 am
Location: New York City

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by mdoudoroff » Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:14 am

I’m delighted to hear that, because a friend and I are each ordering FX AIDs at the next opportunity! I’m guessing Igorr maybe did a smarter design for the analog input stage than some of the earlier FV-1 module designers. (The Qu-bit and Erica FV-1 modules I’ve had in the past required attenuation most of the time.)

User avatar
igorrr
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 729
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by igorrr » Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:33 am

You need to insure that input to FX AID is not over -7...+7 V to be safe from input clipping.
FV-1 has limited program length, thus spectral or vocoding effects, which need to work with many frequency bands, can not be done to satisfactory results.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5812
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by Funky40 » Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:07 pm

i use the happy nerding 3x stereo mixer (6hp) in front of the FXaid.
Thats really a nice team.

on the other side of the FXaid resides my WMD mscl (stereo) compressor (+ 1hp blank)
Very happy with that setup !
For sale:........it won´t sell, so i stopp bother you ;)

SavageMessiah
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:48 pm

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by SavageMessiah » Mon Apr 06, 2020 6:07 pm

mdoudoroff wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:14 am
I’m delighted to hear that, because a friend and I are each ordering FX AIDs at the next opportunity! I’m guessing Igorr maybe did a smarter design for the analog input stage than some of the earlier FV-1 module designers. (The Qu-bit and Erica FV-1 modules I’ve had in the past required attenuation most of the time.)
Yeah, I had a bunch of clipping issues in my initial testing but in actual practice I've never had any problems. It's a really great module.

User avatar
McRINdk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:01 am
Location: Denmark

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by McRINdk » Mon Apr 06, 2020 6:11 pm

Mine arrived today from Schneidersladen, thanks people. It’s brilliant, 1am and I’m still playing with it. At this stage I’ll probably pick 4-8 favourites and re order them to the first 8 slots. As checking the cheet sheet is tedious and remembering the knobs, part LED positions etc is beyond me.

User avatar
mosorensen
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:19 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by mosorensen » Mon Apr 06, 2020 6:29 pm

I keep PanMix Jr. in front of FX Aid as a three-channel aux-send stereo effect loop.

User avatar
Bob Borries
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 714
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: L.A.

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by Bob Borries » Mon Apr 06, 2020 6:35 pm

Added new delay's to pdf manual (muted and Aux Delay)
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Download: http://www.vo1t.com/Euro/Illustrated/Ha ... FX_Aid.pdf

zerodivide
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:05 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by zerodivide » Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:20 pm

not to sound like a Debbie Downer here, and yes attenuation isnt much of a big deal. However, in my normal patches, I have my VCAs at about 3 o'clock, up and I'm not clipping. But if I send to FXAid the headroom is very little and I need to reduce the VCA to 9 o'clock. its a significant reduction in volume if I don't want clipping or distortion. Seems a bit odd to be honest that I need to attenuate that much. I do run stuff pretty hot though generally as my theory is recording as loud as possible before clipping gives the best results

zerodivide
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:05 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by zerodivide » Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:23 pm

Bob: thanks so much for that. Is it possible to draw in the preset dots so we know whats what easily?

User avatar
a100user
All the gear, no idea!
Posts: 4029
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:39 am
Location: Southern England

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by a100user » Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:11 am

You’re a star Bob
I'm looking for nothing at this moment in time

nrg242
Common Wiggler
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:29 pm
Location: United States

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by nrg242 » Tue Apr 07, 2020 9:48 am

zerodivide wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:23 pm
Bob: thanks so much for that. Is it possible to draw in the preset dots so we know whats what easily?
there are more algorithms than available slots on the module.

Pick a bunch and make your own firmware to test out. its super easy using the Fx Aid tool on the website, with a custom cheat sheet generated as well. then you can trim the firmware down again to a more manageable number of your favorites.

User avatar
Bob Borries
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 714
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: L.A.

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by Bob Borries » Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:29 pm

zerodivide wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2020 11:23 pm
Bob: thanks so much for that. Is it possible to draw in the preset dots so we know whats what easily?
Here you go
Image

User avatar
tdallas
Common Wiggler
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 5:55 am
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by tdallas » Wed Apr 08, 2020 2:19 am

Bob Borries wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:29 pm
Here you go
Wow, thanks a lot :hail: Those documentations are top notch!

scottmfr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: vancouver, bc

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by scottmfr » Wed Apr 08, 2020 11:09 am

I'm not sure if this is possible, but I'd love to see a digital waveshaper added to the roster similar to Audio Damage's ADM18 Shapes module. I suppose it would have to be done in two effects to provide both the Lookup and Algo modes.

zerodivide
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:05 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by zerodivide » Wed Apr 08, 2020 3:34 pm

Bob Borries wrote:
Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:29 pm

Here you go
Image
that helps so much thank you thank you!

zerodivide
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 432
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:05 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: FX AID - multi audio effect module

Post by zerodivide » Wed Apr 08, 2020 3:37 pm

guys I had an idea for FXAID and was curious if it was possible ..
to me it seems it would possibly make more sense if the "left" button was a bank button, and the "right" button scrolled through the diff banks in 1 direction. Pressing the Left button would take you to the 9th patch, where the top row is on dot 2 for example.

Seems it would be a lot more efficient at getting to your patch even if it was one directional. Maybe a future alt firmware could do this?

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”