Blacet Frac Rack Dimensions Required

Blacet, Metalbox, Synthasonic, PAiA and the rest.... a frac frenzy!

Moderators: Joe., luketeaford, lisa, Kent

Post Reply
Babaluma

Blacet Frac Rack Dimensions Required

Post by Babaluma » Mon Aug 29, 2011 1:26 pm

does anyone have the blacet frac rack dimensions easily accessible?

i know it's 5.25" high, but what is the depth and width, with and without the PS500 strapped to the back?

alas the search is not working, i know this info is here somewhere, but can't find it here or on the blacet site either.

i need the info for a case i want made.

thanks in advance,

gregg

User avatar
fracmonkey
JB or not JB, that is the question.
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:16 pm

Post by fracmonkey » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:29 pm

19" wide, of course. Call it 7" deep and add 2.5" for the PS505.

Leave some venilation holes top and bottom in your box. There is a small amount of heat given off by mostly the PS.

User avatar
solitaryzen
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by solitaryzen » Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:59 pm

I'm also about to head down the custom case route - let me know how you go.

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:49 am

Thanks for the info fracmonkey!

Solitaryzen, it's just in the planning stages at the moment, but I will let the forum know as things progress.

User avatar
BananaPlug
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2641
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:37 pm
Location: PHL USA

Post by BananaPlug » Thu Sep 08, 2011 3:30 pm

Depending on which modules you use you might be able to stick the PS505 inside the rack frame.

Babaluma

Post by Babaluma » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:13 pm

Thanks for the suggestion, that was my original plan, you have to use extra long screws right? But I've checked now, and unfortunately there is JUST not enough space for the PS500s. Hopefully with the case design, there will be space to mount the two power supplies on the bottom inside the case, while at the same time cutting down on the overall depth.

User avatar
solitaryzen
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by solitaryzen » Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:00 pm

Yeah, the PS500 does complicate things a bit when trying to minimise case depth/size. Just out of curiosity, how deep is the Wiard 311 controller? If I'm lucky enough to get hold of one of those, I was hoping to be able to mount the power supply behind it in a case somehow.

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3737
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:57 pm

solitaryzen wrote:Yeah, the PS500 does complicate things a bit when trying to minimise case depth/size. Just out of curiosity, how deep is the Wiard 311 controller? If I'm lucky enough to get hold of one of those, I was hoping to be able to mount the power supply behind it in a case somehow.
That should work as long as the PSU lies flat on its back.
the Wiard 311 is uber shallow (like 1 or 2cm). 2U high.

In my portable 6U Frac cabinet I removed the PSU from its aluminum chassis and mounted it directly to the back board (with standoffs).
Aluminum doesn't help for shielding anyway.
This decreases size and makes it easier to get at the onboard power distribution points.

The Blacet PSU has a convenient star grounding point in the middle of the distro if you want to wire a ground lead for connection to other systems.

Exterior depth of the cabinet is 24cm.
Interior depth (behind rack) is about 20cm.
The rear board leaves space above and below for ventilation.
I remoted the power inlet to the side of the cabinet for easy access.
So instead of the power cable sticking out like this:
Image
It is now like this:
Image

User avatar
Adam-V
Count Modula
Posts: 1514
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:08 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Adam-V » Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:24 pm

That is a beautiful cabinet Cat-A-Tonic.

Cheers,
Adam-V

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3737
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:46 pm

Adam-V wrote:That is a beautiful cabinet Cat-A-Tonic.

Cheers,
Adam-V
Thanks Adam,
It's Japanese Cypress (Hinoki)
as is the big unstained one below it.

User avatar
solitaryzen
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by solitaryzen » Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:28 pm

Yes, very nice cabinet indeed!

jamb
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:07 am
Location: shy town

Post by jamb » Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:45 pm

hey, i've got a blacet rack coming in the mail--my first modular system... i'm too excited to wait to find this out myself, but is it indeed possible to mount the ps505 inside the rack with long screws depending on which modules are being housed? i'm thinking it might fit behind my hex zone module... anyone know? :chug:

User avatar
alesauskas
Common Wiggler
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:50 am
Location: Seattle

Post by alesauskas » Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:28 pm

That is indeed a nice cabinet Catatonic. Is it true one of those ears has a Miniwave in it? If so, any pics easily accessible? It's good inspiration for DIY in the future...

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11991
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:14 am

jamb wrote:hey, i've got a blacet rack coming in the mail--my first modular system... i'm too excited to wait to find this out myself, but is it indeed possible to mount the ps505 inside the rack with long screws depending on which modules are being housed? i'm thinking it might fit behind my hex zone module... anyone know? :chug:
If the PSU will fit, then it will fit. I managed to do so with a couple of my racks back in the day.

User avatar
solitaryzen
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Melbourne

Post by solitaryzen » Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:29 am

jamb wrote:hey, i've got a blacet rack coming in the mail--my first modular system... i'm too excited to wait to find this out myself, but is it indeed possible to mount the ps505 inside the rack with long screws depending on which modules are being housed? i'm thinking it might fit behind my hex zone module... anyone know? :chug:
That is exactly what I did with 2 of my rack cases - I have 4 Blacet PSUs mounted on the inside of racks (a bit tricky mounting them with longer screws, but certainly do-able). And yes, the Hex Zone is a perfect module to have on top of a PSU (there are a number of other frac modules that are also shallow enough). See the previous "road cases" post for further info.

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3737
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:51 am

To echo others:
yes, Hex Zone is perfect for mounting in front of an interior-mounted Blacet PSU.
I have done exactly this.
alesauskas wrote:That is indeed a nice cabinet Catatonic. Is it true one of those ears has a Miniwave in it? If so, any pics easily accessible? It's good inspiration for DIY in the future...
I can't find a close up of it at the moment,
but my Mini-Wave repanel is a single Frac space instead of the original double-wide.
It will not fit in a Frac-ear.
In the lower 2 ears of that 6U cab I've added a Blacet mixer,
and a switch expander for the Blacet I/O.

Post Reply

Return to “Fractional Rack Modules”