All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Blacet, Metalbox, Synthasonic, PAiA and the rest.... a frac frenzy!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
smoo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:34 am

All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by smoo » Sat Aug 29, 2020 5:39 am

Hello guys,

My 3 Time Machines dont work anymore. I tried changing some ICs but no success. I even have one new kit at home without the BBD. Its my all time BBD favorite and I really miss it.

Whats the problem with this module? Where is the mistake? Does anyone know someone who can repair them, or one?

Greetings, smoo

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3742
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Sat Aug 29, 2020 5:50 am

What Rev are they?

Maybe ask SynthCube...

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 12018
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by Kent » Sat Aug 29, 2020 6:58 am

;) Is your power supply dead?

depth20
Common Wiggler
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:13 pm

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by depth20 » Sat Aug 29, 2020 9:28 am

I've had two for a long time, never had any problems, did all three die at the same time?

smoo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:34 am

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by smoo » Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:02 pm

No they are not on the same power supply and the other modules are working. I am using Blacet Power supplies. I think I have diffrent revisions - dont know at the moment. I thought it might be a common problem that they die.

User avatar
diophantine
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2323
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:50 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by diophantine » Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:16 pm

How, exactly, are they not working? No audio out? Can you send it a hot signal (or turn up the regen.) and get the clip LED to go on?

How long since you last used them/powered them up?

User avatar
soup
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 623
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:14 pm

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by soup » Sat Aug 29, 2020 9:00 pm

I've never had any trouble with mine but there is this tech note on the blacet site...
Service Tips for the Final Filtre and Time Machine

Based on repair records for these two modules, a likely culprit for problems are the high frequency clock ICs in each module. These are the 13600s; U13 in the FF and U7 in the TM. We suggest that you try replacing these if your module starts acting strange.

User avatar
KSS
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4069
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:28 am

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by KSS » Sat Aug 29, 2020 11:39 pm

smoo wrote:
Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:02 pm
I thought it might be a common problem that they die.
In addition to what soup posted, BBDs in general are sensitive to bias levels. This can result in was working, just stopped kind of behavior.
Do you have the docs to re-calibrate them?
Treat utility modules as stars instead of backup singers.
Treat power supplies like Rockstars instead of roadies!
Chase magic sound, not magic parts.

smoo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:34 am

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by smoo » Sun Aug 30, 2020 1:01 am

thank you. I think swap the 13600 first, I could use the ones from my final filter to start..

maybe its calibration too.

I just cant hear anx delay sound. Have to check the LED again ..

User avatar
e-grad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3362
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:55 am
Location: Berlin

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by e-grad » Sun Aug 30, 2020 2:51 am

smoo wrote:
Sun Aug 30, 2020 1:01 am
thank you. I think swap the 13600 first, I could use the ones from my final filter to start..
When my TM failed on me it was the clocking VCO hence the 13600.

However, the LM13600 / JRC13600 can be hard to get these days. According to a German side there are the following substitutes:
NE5517 (direct substiture)
LM13700 (improved)

edit: However, IIRC when the cloking circuits fails you will still hear the dry signal. If your TM is dead silence you want to check the input and output op amps.

smoo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:34 am

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by smoo » Sun Aug 30, 2020 4:14 am

Wow thank you. I changed one JRC13600 from my Final Filter into the first Time Machine and it works again!

Great. I did not hear that magical Delay in a long time. It sounds more distorted than in my memory. I might have to calibrate it again

User avatar
synthcube
you will be assimilated
Posts: 2168
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:42 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by synthcube » Tue Sep 01, 2020 3:27 pm

Great advice in the thread. Additionally, we have found the R5 trimmer needs to be recalibrated from time to time and its super sensitive to where it gets set... in our experience, its rarely the MN3005 that goes bad (thank goodness)
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/2SynthCube

synthcube webstore www.synthcube.com/cart
music from outer space: www.musicfromouterspace.com
blacet research: www.blacet.com
MOTM DIY Analog Synthesizers: www.motmsynthesizers.com
music from outer space euro smt: www.mfoseuro.com

User avatar
KSS
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4069
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:28 am

Re: All my 3 Blacet Time Machines dont work anymore

Post by KSS » Tue Sep 01, 2020 6:36 pm

synthcube wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 3:27 pm
its super sensitive to where it gets set...
Yes. That's the key to most BBDs.
Treat utility modules as stars instead of backup singers.
Treat power supplies like Rockstars instead of roadies!
Chase magic sound, not magic parts.

Post Reply

Return to “Fractional Rack Modules”