MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Looking to enhance/switch-up my setup, give me your thoughts
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules  
Author Looking to enhance/switch-up my setup, give me your thoughts
robkramble
Hey all,

I've been Euroracking for a few years now, but have never quite reached critical mass or made what's felt like a complete instrument yet. I've been running in circles figuring out what I like and what I don't like, and I think I've finally found the perfect balance.

Let's start with what I have:
Current Setup

And then look at what I'm considering:
Prospective Setup

Here are my thoughts - it took me ages to realize it, but I want the following two things:

1) A classic subtractive voice, with a range somewhere between an SH-101 and an MS-20.

2) A decent number of modules that encourage hands-on interaction with the instrument in a way that directly and noticeably impacts the sound.

Regarding the first desire, I've selected two analogue oscillators, to keep it predictable, but still interesting, by way of potential juxtaposed tunings and FM/Sync interactions between the Dixie II to the Dixie II+ through the uVCA II. The Beast's Chalkboard helps make this juxtaposed tuning more quick and hands-on - better than stopping everything and tuning by ear to change FM ratios, etc.

The Amplitude will provide a nice master VCA with optional (and probably soon-to-be-much-abused) saturation/distortion.

For SH-101 territory, I'd use the Polaris, and for MS-20 territory, I'd use the Wasp Filter. For fun, I'd use both, e.g. a sweeping notch on the Polaris into a modulated Wasp for character and bite.