MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Looking for a basic mastering software
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software  
Author Looking for a basic mastering software
joeSeggiola
tl;dr I need a software for quick mastering of pre-mixed recordings, with basic features like compressor, limiter, envelopes, graphic equalizer and possibly a good noise reduction filter. I'm an hobbyist and I'm using Audacity at the moment, but it doesn't have live preview and non-destructive editing, forcing me to work by trial and error.

-----

I often find myself to record live material from my hardware setup with a portable line recorder on the mixer output. I don't do this with the goal of composing stuff, it's just that there are moments I say myself "yeah, it'd be nice to record this stuff now". My setup doesn't include a laptop by choice, I work all days on PCs and I want to get away from it when playing: a DAW studio is a no-go for me.

But, you know, the recordings will always need a bit of work before storing or sharing: loudness normalisation, compression, equalization, noise reduction. At the moment I'm using Audacity, which has all the features I need and works well, but it doesn't have live preview and non-destructive editing, forcing me to work by trial and error. My wish-list is:

- Loudness control with non-destructive compression and limiting
- Volume envelopes for fade-in/out or regulations across the track
- Non-destructive graphic equalizer with live preview, possibly with live spectrogram overlay
- Noise reduction filter, it'd be great if as good as the Audacity one with automatic noise profiling from silent segments; I can do without it if the equalizer is so powerful I can do it myself