MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Is it possible to patch wrong? And damage a module?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Is it possible to patch wrong? And damage a module?
joesdeals
I am new to eurorack,

I am just wondering if there is any possibility of me screwing up patching something wrong.

for example taking a cv out into a cv out or cv in into a cv in.

maybe taking a cv out into the left mono out of a headphone module.

I am wondering how durable are modules or are some fragile and can break?
J3RK
In general, most things will be pretty forgiving. A lot of IO is protected, most modern op amps used for these have output protection, etc. Most inputs will be conditioned in some way.

Generally, you don't want to connect outputs to other outputs. Otherwise you should be good.

When possible, read the specs for a module, so you know what ranges the IO is expecting for normal operation. That said, you shouldn't need to worry much about damage.

The biggest thing to watch for is connecting the module to power properly in your rack/case. That's where damage can occur in a lot of modules.
Yes Powder
It's not completely outside the realm of possibility, but unless you're using an old paperface Serge you probably don't have to worry about it.

I still wouldn't go patching inputs to inputs, though…
nigel
Yes Powder wrote:
It's not completely outside the realm of possibility, but unless you're using an old paperface Serge you probably don't have to worry about it.

Outputs to outputs. Patching inputs to inputs is harmless.
Yes Powder
nigel wrote:
Yes Powder wrote:

Outputs to outputs. Patching inputs to inputs is harmless.
l

That’s what I meant, thank you
Cybananna