VCV Rack: Open-source virtual modular synthesizer

Reaktor, MAX/MSP, VST/AU, etc. A place for all things soft....

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
User avatar
scozbor
100th Member!
Posts: 1715
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 4:17 pm
Location: Maleny

Post by scozbor » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:01 pm

This is INSANE and so meta! Can't wait to try it out (on linux)
:hail: :hail:

User avatar
Oblivion
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 520
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 11:11 am
Location: N.E. Illinoise

Post by Oblivion » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:13 pm

scozbor wrote:This is INSANE and so meta! Can't wait to try it out (on linux)
:hail: :hail:
If you compile a full list of prereqs, that would be awesome. I have a pretty fresh Debian install and I'm up to about a dozen build attempts adding a new package ever time until it stumbles on the next. No prereqs listed in the Readme.
Perpetual n00b.
Budding Phonogeneticist.

User avatar
synthi
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:01 am
Location: La Patagonia
Contact:

Post by synthi » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:30 pm

permadeath wrote: Is it normal that the sequencer in Fundamental's sequencer's lowest setting is so fast?
The clock knob seem to go slower clockwise, the opossite of a "rate" or "frequency" knob.. :tu:
Kymátika studio | facebook | soundcloud
Recording - mixing - mastering

User avatar
Vortico
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:29 am
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Post by Vortico » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:55 pm

Oblivion wrote:
scozbor wrote:This is INSANE and so meta! Can't wait to try it out (on linux)
:hail: :hail:
If you compile a full list of prereqs, that would be awesome. I have a pretty fresh Debian install and I'm up to about a dozen build attempts adding a new package ever time until it stumbles on the next. No prereqs listed in the Readme.
It should be "none". Try running the Rack.sh script rather than ./Rack.

User avatar
synthi
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:01 am
Location: La Patagonia
Contact:

Post by synthi » Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:10 pm

Texture synth seem to be working only after you "randomize" it, as if the default state is bypass or something. If you "initialize" it then it goes silent again... :despair:
Kymátika studio | facebook | soundcloud
Recording - mixing - mastering

User avatar
synthi
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:01 am
Location: La Patagonia
Contact:

Post by synthi » Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:16 pm

synthi wrote:And, how to change the Clouds mode???
Downloaded the Clouds manual and then I realized that there aren´t leds or buttons in the Texture Synthesizer front panel! The freeze can be done gating the freeze input, but there is no way to change the behaviour of the blend knob or selecting quality settings. :cry:
Is just me??

WIN7x64 BTW
Kymátika studio | facebook | soundcloud
Recording - mixing - mastering

permadeath
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 11:26 pm
Location: Canada

Post by permadeath » Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:44 pm

synthi wrote:
synthi wrote:And, how to change the Clouds mode???
Downloaded the Clouds manual and then I realized that there aren´t leds or buttons in the Texture Synthesizer front panel! The freeze can be done gating the freeze input, but there is no way to change the behaviour of the blend knob or selecting quality settings. :cry:
Is just me??

WIN7x64 BTW
On the Github page it says it's only 70% done and what's left to work on is "edit buttons and lights / freeze button / right-click context menus to replace menu diving". I don't know why Vortico still included it in the Audible Instruments pack if it's not done, it may be a mistake that it was included. :despair:

But I know that he removed the Rampage module (yesterday I think) because it presumably needs more work. Maybe it's included because it...sort of works? I dunno.

User avatar
diode_destroyer
Common Wiggler
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 7:08 pm
Location: Kansas

Post by diode_destroyer » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:08 pm

This looks super cool!

User avatar
synthi
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:01 am
Location: La Patagonia
Contact:

Post by synthi » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:26 pm

Thanks Permadeath, now it makes sense!!
I`m really enjoying VCV! wonderful workflow and sound.
ITOH I noticed something unexpected and awesome, specially for Windows users: you can add several "audio device" modules and all will work even if those have different drivers! I know not so awesome for MAC users since you can mix and match in/outs from different interfaces but this is the first time I see that I see something like that on Windows!
So tomorrow I`ll try hooking the Roland Bitrazer (6 CV inputs& 2 CV outputs!!) along witth the Iconnect audio interface for audio duties :hyper: :bananaguitar:
Kymátika studio | facebook | soundcloud
Recording - mixing - mastering

User avatar
Dcramer
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5390
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 12:11 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Dcramer » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:36 pm

I sure hope they come up with a way to put Black Davies on all those knobs! :party:

User avatar
eircom
Common Wiggler
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 2:07 am
Location: moscow

Post by eircom » Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:13 pm

Oh. Github page says Braids is 100% ported but there's seemingly no way to "press" the encoder to get to settings (META mode etc). Or that's me?

Anyway, awesome, super efficient and intuitive software.
The download size is 3.3 MB. Can't even remember when I've seen anything like that.

User avatar
synthi
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:01 am
Location: La Patagonia
Contact:

Post by synthi » Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:18 pm

eircom wrote:Oh. Github page says Braids is 100% ported but there's seemingly no way to "press" the encoder to get to settings (META mode etc). Or that's me?

Anyway, awesome, super efficient and intuitive software.
The download size is 3.3 MB. Can't even remember when I've seen anything like that.
Been trying exactly the same moments ago but couldn't find a way to enter the menu.
Kymátika studio | facebook | soundcloud
Recording - mixing - mastering

User avatar
eircom
Common Wiggler
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 2:07 am
Location: moscow

Post by eircom » Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:22 am

Also, meta modulator's Algo CV input seems to be not working. any modulation applied has no effect.

User avatar
dasdreieck
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 3:41 am

Post by dasdreieck » Mon Sep 11, 2017 1:53 am

Thanks for this. Really awesome, been playing around all morning.

Would be really nice if the basic VCO had an LFO setting for simple stuff and clocking, when I can't be bothered messing around with Tides. A quantiser would be awesome too for generative stuff.

But hey no complaints, I'm amazed at how good this is, and for free too. Respect :hail:

User avatar
Riggar
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:38 pm
Location: England

Post by Riggar » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:40 am

"Would be really nice if the basic VCO had an LFO setting for simple stuff and clocking, when I can't be bothered messing around with Tides. A quantiser would be awesome too for generative stuff"


+1!

User avatar
roya
Common Wiggler
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 10:15 am
Location: London

Post by roya » Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:02 am

Been playing with it for a couple hours. very cool!!

Only problem is that now i NEED to buy an elements! :) :75:

Seems like this will be an awesome platform to play with modules before buying, hope more modules will be available.

sanderbaan
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:35 am

Post by sanderbaan » Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:08 am

It would be amazing if there will be a Ableton Link module....

eb0687
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:23 am
Location: Kuwait

Post by eb0687 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:13 am

sanderbaan wrote:It would be amazing if there will be a Ableton Link module....
+1

User avatar
wallyp
Common Wiggler
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 4:16 am
Location: Manchester UK
Contact:

Post by wallyp » Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:15 am

Very, very nice. Excellent idea and implementation. So far seems stable on Win 10 Ryzen 1700.

Can only get an output via Win Direct Sound to a 18i20. No Asio4All. Maybe access to the Asio4All CP from inside the app would be helpful?

On the Win DirectSound output I get 94% CPU usage and one core maxed out. So usable with a quick 10 minutes before work.
Only problem is that now i NEED to buy an elements! smile
Not that I need encouragement but this is a great way to test drive modules.

Need the audio in now to integrate with the real world and it['ll be a great showroom for modules. Like a fully functioning Modular Grid.



:hail:

User avatar
cptnal
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3531
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 2:48 am
Location: People's Republic of Scotland

Post by cptnal » Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:23 am

I don't get it. Is it supposed to be a gateway drug for the real thing? One of the reasons I got into Eurorack is because making music on a computer is so b o r i n g!

Just me? :despair:

User avatar
wallyp
Common Wiggler
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 4:16 am
Location: Manchester UK
Contact:

Post by wallyp » Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:44 am

Just me? seriously, i just don't get it
No I get you. I feel the same. Just different spaces to occupy.

The case with knobs gets turned on, when the computers turned off, it gets carted off to places the computer doesnt.... etc

User avatar
Vortico
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:29 am
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Post by Vortico » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:46 am

I've updated the MacOS build on the website https://vcvrack.com to support MacOS 10.7 to 10.11. For those who have been having trouble opening it, try re-downloading it.

User avatar
M4R71N
Common Wiggler
Posts: 238
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:24 am
Location: France

Post by M4R71N » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:51 am

Vortico
Is there any way to contribute to the debugging or missing functions (github, email or just here???).

User avatar
wallyp
Common Wiggler
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 4:16 am
Location: Manchester UK
Contact:

Post by wallyp » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:54 am

Is there any way to contribute to the debugging or missing functions (github, email or just here???).
+1

User avatar
Vortico
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:29 am
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Post by Vortico » Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:58 am

Any three are fine. Email is contact@vcvrack.com
GitHub Issues are preferred over Pull Requests, since it takes me longer to review code and build changes than implement it.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Software”